Basis of Assets – 2017 Law – Course Manual Only

Course Content

Your cost basis in property is usually the purchase price; however, a variety of situations can cause the basis of an asset to be different than its purchase price.  This course discusses how to determine the basis you have in assets that are acquired by purchase, gift, inheritance and a variety of other methods.

Topics Covered

  • Definition of capital vs. non-capital assets
  • Gifted & inherited property
  • Adjustments to basis including improvements and depreciation
  • Basis of stock
  • Alternate basis under the AMT

Objectives

By the conclusion of this course, you should be able to:

  • Explain the meaning of “basis of property”
  • Calculate the basis in property you own
  • Calculate the adjusted basis in property you own
  • Calculate  the cost basis of stock you own
  • Distinguish between capital and noncapital assets
  • Explain how certain assets may have dual basis due to different treatment under the alternative minimum tax

The course manual is delivered as a PDF document which you can download and print.

$5.99

Section 8.1

Course Manual Only

Course Type:

CPE Tax

Term:

2017 Tax Law

Registration Status:

Registration Open

Ends: Friday, October 25th, 2019 11:59 PM (PDT)

Course Status

Available

Started: Thursday, October 25th, 2018 11:59 PM (PDT)

Ends: Sunday, October 25th, 2020 11:59 PM (PDT)

Course Length:

0 Hours

Course Fees:

Course Materials $5.99
Total $5.99

Course Credits:   0

No CE is awarded with the purchase of this manual. You must enroll in and complete the full version of this course to received CE.

Field of Study

Taxes

Program Level

Intermediate

Prerequisite

Basic tax knowledge

0
( 0 reviews )
0 ratings
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0

Disclosures and School Policies

Terms of Enrollment

Pacific Northwest Tax School’s course materials and teaching techniques are valuable proprietary information of Pacific Northwest Tax School, and all such information is subject to copyright, including written, recorded, internet based as well as all other electronic media. Each Student agrees that she/he will use the information only for purposes of education and training; and as a condition of enrollment, that they will not disseminate the information to any third party and will treat the materials as confidential information of Pacific Northwest Tax School. As a condition of enrollment, Students pledge not use any information in any competitive fashion, including to create or derive competitive materials. Students further agree that any breach of these terms and conditions shall cause the school irreparable harm, entitling Pacific Northwest Tax School to injunctive relief, as well as any other remedy that may be available at law or equity. Students taking continuing education courses shall have twelve months from date of enrollment to successfully complete the course and receive their Certificate of Completion.  Students taking the federal only portion or the Oregon 80 Hour Basic Tax Course students have nine months from the date of enrollment to sucessfully complete the course.

Basic Tax Law

Students taking any Basic Tax Law course, agree to comply with all Terms of Enrollment outlined the enrollment agreement form for that course, a link to which can be found on the catalog page for each Basic Tax course.

Prerequisites & Advance Preparation

Students intending to write the Oregon State Tax Exam, must be at least 18 years of age, and have High School Diploma or GED. Students using our self-paced internet based program should prepare for classes by downloading and printing course materials. For more information including detailed course descriptions and learning objectives, view the details of each course, located on Pacific Northwest Tax School’s catalog pages at: https://www.pnwtaxschool.com/list-of-all-courses/

Cancellations/Refunds

Continuing professional education courses including interactive, non-interactive and correspondence program fees are non-refundable and non-transferable. Webinars/Webcasts are non-transferable and in most cases non-refundable. A student may choose to be switched to another Webinar/Webcast of equal or lesser value if a conflict with the scheduled time exists. In the case of a missed Webinar/Webcast a request to transfer to a new Webinar/Webcast must be made with 48 hours of when the Webinar/Webcast aired. Refunds will be issued ONLY prior to the start of the Webinar/Webcast. A $15.00 processing fee will be withheld from all refund amounts. For more information regarding administration policies including complaints and refunds, please contact our offices at 503-646-5600.

Problem Resolution

Pacific Northwest Tax School gives the highest priority to delivering quality education programs. If you have concerns about our programs please contact the Pacific Northwest Tax School Education Coordinator at: [email protected]

Disclaimer

Manuals distributed and programs sponsored by Pacific Northwest Tax School are designed to teach application of tax laws. Pacific Northwest Tax School works to provide accurate and timely material to students, however the school does not have any responsibility if human and/or mechanical error exists.  Accordingly, no assurance is given by Pacific Northwest Tax School that such information is totally comprehensive or accurate in its coverage of such subject matter. Information published or sponsored by Pacific Northwest Tax School should not be relied upon as a substitute for independent research to original sources of authority such as the Internal Revenue Code, IRS Publications and Internal Revenue Rulings. Pacific Northwest Tax School, its authors, and instructors do not render legal, accounting, or other non-educational professional advice. If legal advice or other expert assistance is required, the services of a competent professional should be sought.  Credit hours are subject to change without notice.